sprained tooth syndrome healing time

For some injuries, such as a torn ligament, surgery may be considered. I worked as a caregiver for a long time, so I can understand the difficulty youre facing. The good news is that a sprained tooth will usually clear up on its own. Beware nuts, seeds, and other tiny foods. Most posterior teeth are not designed to absorb damaging lateral forces, which can result in STS. 2. Main Causes and Best Way to Treat It. Bruised tooth is a dental condition when too much pressure on the teeth sprain the tooth ligaments. It should heal in one week as far as pain and inflammation goes. Laser Teeth Whitening How Safe is This Procedure? A sprained tooth usually occurs due to trauma, teeth grinding, or frequent swallowing associated with some illnesses. Accessed April 30, 2018. A single copy of these materials may be reprinted for noncommercial personal use only. Educational text answers on HealthTap are not intended for individual diagnosis, treatment or prescription. 3. The ligaments in a persons tooth can either get damaged or inflamed. The supportive tissues around teeth have a high capacity for healing, Richards says, so it may hurt for a while, but as long as you take up a temporary diet of mush to give your tooth some rest, it should heal fine. If you can avoid chewing on your painful tooth for five days to two weeks, it may heal on its own. Ligaments are tissues that connect your bones. Modern dentistry, in all of its technology over the last 50 years, has solved many of the problems that have arisen with the increase of tooth retention. In: Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice. As stated before, this is not a dental emergency and, in most cases, bruised teeth heal on their own, but if the pain is persistent, the patient should visit a reputable dentist and ask for their professional opinion. Also ask if the bite pain is sharp or dull and achy. If you suspect that night clenching or grinding of the teeth is the cau